Taco Trucks

by Jeanne

Laperla2 The flight of anxiety is now past.  As a way to celebrate I went to lunch.  This is a bit of an event in that I work in an industrial park 50 miles south of San Francisco.  I am surrounded by options such as Chili’s, Denny’s, Friday’s and Teriakyi Bowls.  There are a few places that I have discovered–that surprisingly no one here at work has ventured to. Today’s celebration was to a recently discovered Taco Truck.  I was so thrilled when I came back from lunch.  Everyone, huddled over cold pizza leftover from the senior staff meetings, wanted to know how it was that I could eat food off a truck. 

What most people don’t know is that trucks must follow the same food safety and sanitation requirements as restaurants.  It is after all a restaurant on wheels. 

Today, I had a guava juice, a birria and two carne asadas tacos on fresh corn tortillas splashed with spicy fresh cilantro and onions.  All for $5.25.  The carne asada was remarkable.  Simple pleasures after a few stressful days.

Photos:  JB (with the new Sony Cybershot–the Canon 70 has biten the dust)

La_perla1    Laperla3

